Human Capital Multidisciplinary Research Center

4.3.1 Exploring the Elements of Innovation Culture of Organizations and Society in the Paradigm of Open Innovation

Valeriya Vlasova
Project Leader

Context of Research Project within a Subject of Human Capital

Technological transformations affecting the economy and society significantly change the mechanisms of knowledge creation and dissemination, contributing to the generation of innovation. Although traditional actors (companies, universities, scientific organizations) continue to be the main actors in the innovation process, it becomes more open due to the involvement of households and individuals. Today this approach is being developed within the paradigm of ‘open innovation’, which changes the traditional view of management. It introduces the norms of an open innovation culture based on diverse knowledge flows, competencies and skills. In other words, human capital becomes an important resource for the innovation process. Individuals’ contribution to innovation activity goes beyond the scope of job responsibilities and can be carried out contrary to established organizational processes, which requires the development of a new framework for the internal and external openness of a firm.

Within the framework of the research project ‘Exploring the Elements of Innovation Culture of Organizations and Society in the Paradigm of Open Innovation’, approaches to the study of best technological and organizational practices in relationship to the innovation strategies of companies will be developed. In addition, a collection of empirical data unique to Russia will be formed, characterizing the innovation culture of Russian organizations and the population

Project Aim

Developing a theoretical framework and methodology for research of innovation culture in the open innovation paradigm, combining research on the involvement of employees in the innovation processes of organizations and study practices of innovative behavior of the population; testing the developed approaches for an empirical analysis of the open innovation ecosystem

Project Objectives:

  1. Systematizing approaches to modeling the interactions of organizations and individuals within the open innovation paradigm
  2. Studying the factors of individual’s involvement in the generation and dissemination of innovation
  3. Studying the factors that make up the innovation culture of society in the era of open innovation

Key Findings

2020

A unified theoretical and methodological approach for studying and modeling of innovation process in the era of open innovation has been formed, a framework concept of internal and external openness of the enterprise has been developed, new conceptual approaches to the sociological study of the population’s involvement in the generation of innovation at work and at home have been developed

2021

The importance of certain aspects of innovation culture for increasing employees’ creative potential and their motivation to use and implement innovations has been assessed, factors characterizing the attitude of the population to technological and non-technological innovations and cultural attitudes characterizing the positive and negative consequences of the introduction of new technical and institutional solutions have been analyzed

Educational Programs

Educational Modules at the English-language Master's Program Science, Technology and Innovation Management and Policy (Governance of Science, Technology and Innovation)

Publications

  1. Report  Breakthrough Innovations: Human Being 2.0 (RU) Authors: Sergey Gavrish, Leonid Gokhberg, Daria Gribkova, Yu. Dyugovanets, Albert Efimov, Yulia Milshina, Dmitriy Payson, Alexander Sokolov, Sofia Chernogortseva. National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow: HSE, 2022
  2. Fursov K. Linton J. Social Innovation: Integrating Product and User Innovation // Technological Forecasting and Social Change 

Conferences

XXII April International Scientific Conference on Economic and Social Development (RU) (Moscow, Russia, April 4-22, 2021):
- international symposium Foresight and STI Policy: special round table Man in the Era of Technology Transformation (RU) (13/04/2021)

International seminar Сorporate Innovation Climate (RU) (Moscow, Russia, May 26, 2021)

XI International Scientific Conference Foresight and STI Policy (RU) (Moscow, Russia, October 15-26, 2021):
Specialized session Digitalization of Society: New Technologies as a Driver of Social Change: (RU)
Rud V., Vlasova V. Culture of Innovation in the Era of Open Innovation" (10/22/2021)

Workshop for researchers and students Technological Sovereignty in the Age of Openness (RU) (Moscow, Russia, November 19, 2021)

Workshop for researchers and students Responding to the Challenge of Technological Sovereignty  (RU) Responding to the Challenge of Technological Sovereignty (Moscow, Russia, December 3, 2021)

НЦМУ «Центр междисциплинарных исследований человеческого потенциала»

4.3.1 Научный проект «Исследование элементов инновационной культуры организаций и общества в парадигме открытых инноваций»

Власова Валерия Вадимовна
Руководитель

Связь научного проекта с тематикой человеческого потенциала

Влияющие на экономику и общество технологические трансформации существенно меняют механизмы создания и распространения знаний, способствуя генерации инноваций. Несмотря на то, что традиционные акторы (компании, университеты, научные организаций) продолжают оставаться основными участниками процесса инновационной деятельности, инновационный процесс становится более открытым за счет вовлечения в него домохозяйств и индивидов. Сегодня этот подход разрабатывается в рамках парадигмы «открытых инноваций», которая изменяет традиционный взгляд на менеджмент, максимально продлевающий сохранение инноваций в рамках отдельных фирм, вводя нормы открытой инновационной культуры, опирающейся на многообразие потоков знаний, компетенций и навыков. Иными словами - на человеческий капитал, который становится важным ресурсом инновационного процесса.  Вклад индивидов в инновационную деятельность выходит за рамки должностных обязанностей и может осуществляться вопреки сложившимся организационным процессам, что требует разработки новой рамочной концепции внутренней и внешней открытости предприятия.

В рамках работ по научному проекту «Исследование элементов инновационной культуры организаций и общества в парадигме открытых инноваций» будут развиваться подходы к изучению передовых технологических и организационных практик в тесной взаимосвязи с инновационными стратегиями компаний, а также будет сформирована коллекция уникальных для России массивов эмпирических данных, характеризующих инновационную культуру российских организаций и населения

Цель проекта:

Разработка теоретической рамки и методологии исследований инновационной культуры в парадигме открытых инноваций, объединяющей исследования вовлечения сотрудников в инновационные процессы организаций и изучение практик инновационного поведения населения; апробация разработанных подходов для эмпирического анализа экосистемы открытых инноваций

Задачи проекта:

  1. Систематизация подходов к моделированию взаимодействий организаций и индивидов в рамках парадигмы открытых инноваций
  2. Исследование факторов вовлечения индивидов в генерацию и распространение инноваций
  3. Изучение комплекса факторов, составляющих инновационную культуру общества в эпоху открытых инноваций

Ключевые результаты

2020 г.

Сформирован единый перспективный теоретико-методологический подход к исследованию и моделированию инновационных процессов в эпоху открытых инноваций, разработана рамочная концепция внутренней и внешней открытости предприятия, разработаны новые концептуальные подходы к социологическому исследованию вовлеченности населения в генерацию инноваций на работе и дома

2021 г.

Проведена оценка значимости отдельных аспектов инновационной культуры для повышения творческого потенциала сотрудников и их мотивации к использованию и внедрению инноваций, проанализированы факторы, характеризующие отношение населения к технологическим и нетехнологическим инновациям и культурные установки, характеризующие позитивные и негативные последствия внедрения новых технических и институциональных решений

Публикации

  1. Доклад «Прорывные инновации: человек 2.0». Авторский коллектив: С. А. Гавриш, Л. М. Гохберг, Д. Е. Грибкова, Ю. И. Дюгованец, А. Р. Ефимов, Ю. В. Мильшина, Д. Б. Пайсон, А. В. Соколов, С. В. Черногорцева. Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики». — М.: НИУ ВШЭ, 2022.
  2. Fursov K. Linton J. Social Innovation: integrating product and user innovation // Technological Forecasting and Social Change

Конференции

  1. XXII Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества (Москва, Россия, 4-22 апреля 2021 г.): международный симпозиум «Форсайт и научно-техническая и инновационная политика» (Foresight and STI Policy): специальный круглый стол «Человек в эпоху технологических трансформаций» (“Man in the Era of Technology Transformation”) (13.04.2021)
  2. Международный семинар «Корпоративный инновационный климат» (“Сorporate Innovation Climate”) (Москва, Россия, 26 мая 2021 г.)
  3. XI Международной научной конференции «Форсайт и научно-техническая и инновационная политика» (Москва, Россия, 15-26 октября 2021 г.): Специализированная сессия «Цифровизация общества: новые технологии как драйвер социальных изменений: Рудь В.А., Власова В.В. «Культура инноваций в эпоху открытых инноваций» (22.10.2021)
  4. Мастер-класс для исследователей и студентов «Технологический суверенитет в эпоху открытости» (“Technological Sovereignty in the Age of Openness”) (Москва, Россия,19 ноября 2021 г.)
  5. Мастер-класс для исследователей и студентов «Ответ на вызов технологического суверенитета» (“Responding to the Challenge of Technological Sovereignty”) (Москва, Россия, 3 декабря 2021 г.)